Wantable May 2013 Makeup Box Unboxing and Review!

So my mailman came just now and dropped off my eagerly awaited Wantable box!  A few months ago Wantable announced they were going to start scaling up their service and offering their subscription boxes to Canadians, having previously only been shipping boxes within the US. The best part: the first 1000 to sign up would get theirs free! So of course I rushed to sign up.

Right now there are a million and one subscription boxes on the market I feel like, but I think Wantable’s done a great job of differentiating themselves by offering something different: a box of full sized products (not samples!) that are completely catered to your tastes. They offer a jewelry box and a makeup box and being indecisive, I went for both (ha). I haven’t gotten my jewelry box yet (and honestly am kinda nervous to get it based on the boxes I’ve seen so far), but here’s my unboxing of my makeup box!

When you sign up you go through a pretty comprehensive quiz of the types of products you love, like, and dislike, and more questions on the specific colours/types of products that you like/dislike. The only thing I disliked was blush, and based on my quiz, I think they did a pretty good job at curating my box! Ok, without further ado, here’s a whackload of pictures taken while I unboxed my makeup box:

The box

The box. It’s pretty cute looking. The cardboard is coated, which gives it some sheen and makes it look a little classier. It’s a pretty good size too – I think this would fit into an apartment mailbox for all of you condo dwellers.

A quick look inside after opening the lid...

A quick look inside after opening the lid…

Product info cards aside, here's what the inside of the box looks like. Black crinkle paper and and black tissue wrapped around the products

Product info cards aside, here’s what the inside of the box looks like. Black crinkle paper and and black tissue wrapped around the products.

A quick look at what i got! Besame Sweetheart Balm, Face Highlighter, Face Mascara, and Mia BelleZZa Eye Crayon. The products are safely packaged in a layer of bubble wrap under the tissue paper

A quick look at everything inside the black tissue paper! Besame Sweetheart Balm, FACE Highlighter, FACE Mascara, and MiA BelleZZa Eye Crayon. The products are safely packaged in a layer of bubble wrap under the tissue paper.

Besame Sweetheart Balm in Tangerine ($18)

Besame Sweetheart Balm in Tangerine ($18)

From the product sheet: “My Sweetheart Balm is a luminous lip moisturizing balm with a hint of colour that gives you an elegant, long lasting finish. I carefully crafted a healthy formula that deeply moisturizes and conditions, while fortifying with antioxidant vitamins C and E. It is highly emollient and protective as it drenches the lips with exceptional comfort and hydration in sheer, shiny pops of colour.”

This is my favourite from everything I received. The packaging is super super cute and looks vintagey and gorgeous. The lipbalm itself is great too, it looks like a gloss applied, but is thinner and completely unsticky. It’s super moisturizing, and it adds a bit of sheer colour and shine. The scent is great too – oranges are my favourite fruit.

FACE Stockholm Cream Highlighter in Dignity ($25)

FACE Stockholm Cream Highlighter in Dignity ($25)

From FACE: “Wear alone, over foundation or to add a lightness to tired eyes and under circles.”

I’m really happy to be receiving this too! I’ve been looking for a highlighter, so this is great to receive. I think I listed highlighter as a “love” on my quiz. I’ve never heard of this brand, but I swatched it (pics at end) and it’s super creamy and shimmery.

FACE Stockholm Volumizing Mascara in Black ($24)

FACE Stockholm Volumizing Mascara in Black ($24)

From FACE: “Our classic formula – create captivating eyes with just one coat.”

Mascara is my favourite beauty product, so I’m always happy to get another. I’ve got a million tubes to get through though, so I don’t want to open this one up and try it out.

MiA BelleZZa Summer Love Eye Crayon in Argento ($17.99)

MiA BelleZZa Summer Love Eye Crayon in Argento ($17.99)

From MiA BelleZZa: “Beautiful shadow crayons for easy application of rich creamy colour in a single sweep. With skin soothing Squalene, vitamins C & E your lids will be moisturized while providing antioxidant protection.”

Hm, not so happy to be receiving this. I didn’t “love” eyeshadow on my quiz, and asked for a neutral shimmer if I was to get an eyeshadow. I guess pink can be seen as neutral. I tried it out though and it was great being applied – super smooth and creamy with no tugging, but after only 10 minutes it settled into the creases of my eyelids. Hopefully it’ll be better with primer. By the way – not to be nitpicky, but I lol’d at the name of this brand. I’ve never heard of it before, but the name reminds me of the way I used to type back when I was 12 and just starting using MSN Messenger (“wUtz uP?!”).

Frownies Eye Gels ($0)

Frownies Eye Gels ($0)

Last, but not.. actually, yes, least,

From Frownies: “Anti-wrinkle treatment for puffy bags under the eyes contains powerful anti-oxidants that help protect your skin. With one 30 minute anti-aging treatment 100% of women testing Frownies eye gels saw a reduction in the appearance of fine lines and dark circles. The weight of the anti-wrinkle patch smooths the under eye area and protects the integrity of the acid mantle and skin. Frownies Eye Gels promote beauty and provide antioxidants to fight free radical damage. Natural ingredients help improve the appearance of the skin.”

Interesting concept, but I don’t think I’m really in the target demographic for this product. I think these will come in handy come recruiting season in the fall or finals season when my eye bags are panda-esque though.

Swatched: FACE highlighter in Dignity, Besame lipbalm in Tangerine, and MiA BelleZZa eye crayon in Argento

Swatches: FACE highlighter in Dignity, Besame lipbalm in Tangerine, and MiA BelleZZa eye crayon in Argento

Wantable May 2013 Makeup Box

Wantable May 2013 Makeup Box

Overall I’m pleased with this box. The total retail value of the box was $85. The subscription costs $36, plus around $9 for shipping, taxes, and duties. With the first box free I’ll be getting the $36 credited back. For what I paid, it was definitely worth it, but going forward I’m not sure if it’s worth it. $45 is quite a bit to be hiking out for mystery products, but the customization aspect is great. I think to get a great box though you’d need to be very very picky in exactly what you wanted and didn’t want to receive. In hindsight, I think I would have been happier with my box if I’d listed exactly what I wanted, rather than listing that I liked almost everything.

I’m a little upset that I only received 4 items however (I’m not going to count the Frownies sample, since even on the itemized invoice it lists the value at $0) – I’ve seen a lot of lucky ladies get 6 full sized products. But again, for what I’ve paid I really can’t complain. The customized aspect means that I will definitely use everything I got, and going forward if I did continue to subscribe I’d be a lot more picky with what I loved and disliked to make sure I loved the box I got.

If you’re interested in signing up, Wantable is available in the US and Canada and costs $36 a month for 4-6 full sized products. I’d love it if you signed up by clicking my referral link here.

Did you sign up? Leave me a link to your box if you did!

2 thoughts on “Wantable May 2013 Makeup Box Unboxing and Review!

  1. I’m extremely inspired along with your writing abilities and also with the layout on your blog. Is this a paid subject matter or did you modify it yourself? Anyway stay up the nice high quality writing, it is uncommon to look a nice blog like this one today..

What do you think? Let me know, I love reading your comments!

