April Empties

Yay, another empties post! I know it’s well into May, but I wanted to share all the beauty products I used up in April. I actually love the feeling of using things up because it makes me feel better about my stash haha. Ok, here’s what I used up and I what I thought about everything:

Everything I used up in April!

Everything I used up in April!

Hair care

Hair care

From L to R, top to bottom:

Josie Maran Argan Oil for Hair: I really liked this sample! It added moisture and shine to my hair and it smelled really good. For the price though, I don’t think I would purchase just because there are so many similar serums out there for a way lower price point.

L’Oreal Mythic Oil: These vials liked tiny, but they were so deceptive and actually held quite a bit of product (or maybe I just used less than I thought I would need each time). Anyways each vial lasted for almost two weeks, although I guess I only used them just after showering. I really liked this and will probably buy this eventually.

Kerastase Reflection Bain Chroma Captive: Meh, didn’t see any difference while using this shampoo. I didn’t have the conditioner to go with it either. My hair looked no different, and it was way too perfumed. I wouldn’t buy this.

H2O Plus Bath Acquatics Shampoo: I really liked the smell of this shampoo, it smelled super clean and energizing. I can’t say it did much for my hair, although it definitely left it feeling very clean. I wouldn’t buy this.

L’Occitane Apres Shampooing Conditioner: I didn’t like this conditioner at all because the texture was too watery and drippy, and because it was so thin I felt like I had to use a lot of it to saturate all of my hair. It didn’t do much to help with detangling and despite being so thin I don’t think it gave my hair any extra volume. I wouldn’t repurchase.

John Freida Luxurious Volume Anytime Volume Refresher: Ugh, so terrible. I bought this last summer while doing my internship so I could get away with not shampooing in the mornings I woke up late and needed to rush to the office. This is the first dry shampoo I ever bought, and I wouldn’t recommend it to anyone. At first it’s great, it completely absorbs oil and adds volume, but after using it around halfway through the bottle it just completely stopped working and wouldn’t spray powder anymore, but just whatever aerosol alcohol stuff the powder was suspended in. Plus when it is working it leaves a white film over your hair, which would be ok if you’re blond, but was super obvious in my dark hair. For only half a usable can, I would not recommend this and will not repurchase.

Face washes and exfoliants

Face washes and exfoliants

First Aid Beauty Face Cleanser: This was nothing special. No scent, no special powers. I don’t feel like it even left my face feeling particularly clean – there were still traces of makeup left when I used my toner. I wouldn’t purchase.

Nude Perfect Cleansing Oil Face & Eyes: Ahmagah, where has this product been hiding all my life? I absolutely loved this. I was so skeptical that an oil cleanser would leave my skin feeling clean, but somehow it took off all of my makeup (including mascara) and left my skin feeling super clean, but at the same time moisturized and soft. I will definitely be buying this at some point.

Vasanti Brighten Up: I got this sample way back in my first Topbox in I think October.. And despite using it every week only finally finally managed to finish it last month. I really liked it – it’s super gritty and a little painful at times but it leaves my face feeling super soft (no pain no gain right?). I actually already bought the full size (way back in October).

Moisturizers and lotions

Moisturizers and lotions

Eucerin Hyal-Urea Anti-Wrinkle Day and Night Cream: I have no wrinkles, so I’m not sure why I even used this, but anyways I think it would be great for someone who does. The texture is super rich and creamy and was really moisturizing. Not for me though, so I wouldn’t purchase myself.

Curel Moisture Milk: I liked this quite a bit, it was a really light textured, somewhat runny lotion. It went on feeling light and moisturizing. I think it’d be great for dry sensitive skin. Personally I wouldn’t purchase though.

Simple Hydrating Light Moisturizer: This was ho hum. Nothing special at all. I wouldn’t purchase.

Kiehls Ultra Facial Toner: I reeaaally liked this toner! It’s got a thick consistency and felt really good on my face and could almost be used in lieu of a moisturizer. I think I’ll be buying this eventually.

Face masks

Face masks

Whitening Rehydrating Mask: I bought a huge pack of these on impulse when I went to China last year and have been using them for a while now. I don’t know if they’ve done anything to brighten my face, but they smell really good (kind of like grape jelly) and are definitely very hydrating. The shape is great too. If I see them again the next time I go back I might pick some more up.

Maskeraide Beauty Restore: This was fun to use, as all sheet masks are. I find that Maskeraide’s masks are kind of too big for my face and end up on my hair though, which is annoying. I enjoyed this, but for the price, I wouldn’t repurchase.

Makeup

Makeup

Makeup Forever Pro Finish Foundation: I liked this quite a bit, although this sample was too tiny to get a good feel for the product. I ended up blending the four shades it came with and putting it on with a sponge, which seemed to be a pretty good match for my skin. It felt really light and left my face completely mattified for the day. I would consider purchasing this.

Garnier Miracle Skin Perfecter Combination/Oily Skin: I think this has to be my favourite drugstore BB cream. It’s got great coverage, corrects redness, brightens, and leaves my skin matte all day. Love! I will definitely be buying this, once I used up all my other BB creams.

Physicians Formula Baked Pyramid in Baked Tan: This was my HG bronzer for the longest time, this is actually probably the third one that I’ve used up. The top cover of the compact is terrible though, and always ends up breaking off. But the colour on this is super natural, not orangey, and is completely matte. I really recommend this!

Hand and nail care

Hand and nail care

Julep Rock Star Hand Creme: I really like this, I love how light the consistency is, in comparison to all the super heavy rich feeling hand creams out there. The only thing is that I find the scent way too strong for my liking. I’ve got the full size, but I just like using up all the samples I get before they pile up.

Julep One Step Polish Remover Pad: I’ve been using these for a while now, but I figured I’d include them in my “empties” pile since I threw the LA Fresh ones too. Between the two, the Julep pads definitely win. The size is great and the remover cuts through everything, even glitter polish, although with glitter polish I usually put the pad on my finger and then put my finger in the bag for a minute, and the polish will just slide right off. I keep somehow getting these from mystery boxes, but if I ever do run out I would buy more.

LA Fresh Nail Polish Remover: I liked how thick the pads were for these (they were probably three times the thickness of a Julep pad) but I found they dried out really easily – when I tried to use it the first pad I used dried out before I could get the polish off of all of my nails, so I had to open up the second one. I wouldn’t repurchase.

Body washes and moisturizers

Body washes and moisturizers

Garnier Intensive 7 Days Refreshing Gel Cream: When I saw the ad that came with this, I kind of laughed because it was so cheesy. It said something along the lines of  “gel cream.. it changes everything” or something similarly dramatic. But once I tried it, I have to say that the gel texture actually is really cool. It felt super light and refreshing, and absorbed instantly, which is great for the summertime especially. I think I’ll probably buy this at some point this summer.

Soap and Glory The Righteous Body Butter: I loved this. It was so hydrating and absorbed really quickly, and made my skin feel really velvety. I’ll probably buy this at some point eventually too, although I think it’s better for winter when my skin is more dry.

Sephora Super Supreme Body Butter: I really don’t think this product deserves the name Super Supreme. It was ok, your typical thick richy creamy body butter. It was really moisturizing, but it left my skin greasy feeling and the scent was kind of overwhelming, speaking of which, I think should be changed – “Lusty Pleasure” doesn’t seem like an appropriate name to me. I wouldn’t buy this.

H2O Plus Spa Sea Salt Body Wash: I had really high hopes for this body wash, which promised to draw out impurities using sea salt. I liked it, it smelled great and left my skin feeling really clean, but it was nothing revolutionary. Although I liked it, for the price, I don’t think I would buy this.

 

Thanks for reading if you made it through all of that! Let me know if you’ve used anything and what your thoughts were.

5 thoughts on “April Empties

    • Haha it took me a couple years I have to say. I think I’ve been using this one since around second year. I LOOVE the feeling of using up powders!

  1. Its great to know you like the NUDE facial cleanser. I have to try it now! Do you have a review on the Physicians formula bronzer? It looks interesting but I cant seem to find any reviews on it!

  2. Howdy terrific website! Does running a blog such as this
    take a lot of work? I’ve virtually no understanding of coding however I was hoping to start my own blog in the near future. Anyhow, if you have any recommendations or tips for new blog owners please share. I understand this is off subject nevertheless I simply needed to ask. Appreciate it!

What do you think? Let me know, I love reading your comments!

