Beauty Box 5: February 2013 Review

So after a (loooong) wait, I finally got my Beauty Box 5 box in the mail yesterday! This is my second BB5, and I was suuuuper antsy to receive it because it shipped late this month, but they emailed stating that the reason it was taking longer to ship was because they were sending bigger and heavier samples this month, and had to switch shipping providers. I think it’s great they were quick to communicate the delay to their subscribers, and heck for bigger samples I’d be willing to wait a little longer every month :p

Hooray! Finally here after it's long journey from Austin.

Hooray! Finally here after it’s long journey from Austin.

A quick look at everything inside

A quick look at everything inside

Tree Hut Shea Sugar Body Scrub – 5.5oz ($2.29)

Oh. My. Goodness. This smells amazeballs. I seriously cannot wait to take a shower and try this out, the smell is absolutely heavenly. The scent is super strong but I love it, it smells just like the tropics and summer. The size is super generous too, this sample will last for ages! I’m pretty sure I”m going to end up buying the full size once I’m done if I can find it because it’s super affordable and absolutely gigantic ($7.49 for 18oz).

H2O

H2O Plus Bath Aquatics Shampoo – 37mL ($2.06)

I haven’t tried this yet, but I am pretty excited to. I opened it up and it smells really good – super fresh and clean. The description says it’s “an exra-gentle daily shampoo fortified with watercress, Iceland moss and seaweed” – sounds good to me! There’s an H2O store downtown that I’ve walked by a million times but have never gone in and bought anything, so I’m really curious to see how their products are.

Coolway

Coolway Boost – 30mL ($4.99)

I’m excited to receive this product, if only because the full size is so pricy I would probably never buy it. The concept of Coolway products is really interesting – they claim that by using this it’ll allow you to style your hair using low heat, which avoids all the damage caused by heat styling.

Brush guards

The Brush Guard Variety Pack – 3 guards ($4.13)

This is another neat product that I’m glad to be receiving because I probably wouldn’t buy it for myself. The brush guards are meant to be put on your brush after washing, to help them retain their shape while drying standing bristles down, or to keep them clean when travelling. I think it’s a great idea, because by drying them bristles down it’ll prevent water weakening the glue holding the brushes together. Plus they will be super handy for travel. I tried them on my brushes and was surprised how much they stretched! The biggest one looks tiny, but expanded to fit my giant bronzer brush.

Brush

BB5 Foldable Brush Compact – ($2?)

So cute!

The compact open – so cute!

Last but not least, BB5 sent a brush compact as a gift in hour of their first anniversary. This is super cute, I love the colour and it’s definitely going into my purse – so practical. My only gripe is that mine came with the mirror detached from the compact :( It’s nothing a little glue can’t fix though. Actually, gripe #2, I don’t think that a gift in honour of their birthday should be considered the fifth sample – this should have been an extra bonus for it to count as a gift.

ALSO! Not pictured but there was also a $50 gift card, no strings attached, included in the boxes to iTrain.com, which is kind of cool. I used it earlier and downloaded a bunch of mp3 workout programs to listen to when I run outside or to listen to and guide me when I’m at the gym.

Beauty Box 5 February Anniversary Box

Well there you have it! This was BB5’s February anniversary box, with a total value of $15.47. Not a super high value, but I’m happy because everything in this will definitely be used and because with my yearly sub, I only pay about $8 a box.

If you’re interested in signing up (go for the yearly sub if you do!) you can do so by going to their website here.

What did you think about this month’s box?

What do you think? Let me know, I love reading your comments!

