ClubNailPolish Review

So today I came home to a mysterious silver bubble mailer package addressed to me with no return address on it…

?? Who could this be from?

?? Who could this be from?

The suspense was killing me! Who was this mystery package from?

The suspense was killing me! Who was this mystery package from?

A look inside the envelope before I pulled out the contents...

A look inside the envelope before I pulled out the contents…

The goodies inside! Cotton pads x 3, OPI You Don't Know Jacques (full size), and  nail files x 3

Tada! The goodies inside! Cotton pads x 3, OPI You Don’t Know Jacques (full size), and nail files x 3

It was my Pretty Little Package from ClubNailPolish.com! This is their prototype for their monthly package, which they sent to me for review. ClubNailPolish.com is a new service and is a nail polish of the month club. It’s not meant to be like a beauty box type subscription, but something simpler, where they only send a full size bottle of a secret colour of brand name nail polish each month and you can cancel any time. Right now they’re only available in Canada, but the next step will be the US.

Their description of their service is

It’s like “Candy For Your Nails.” And as someone famous once said. “Life is like a box full of chocolates. You never know what one you’ll get” In this case, once a month. We are the last chocolate that you relish and savor.

I was so happy to get this in the mail! I love the sparkly silver envelope, such a happy surprise to be getting (rather than just bills and junk mail :p). My goodies were wrapped up in matching silver printed tissue paper too, which was a really cute touch. I’m actually really happy to be receiving this colour as well, so great choice on them! OPI’s You Don’t Know Jacques is one of those colours that seem ubiquitous, but I never got around to picking one up for myself. I remember it launching quite a few years ago, but since then it’s become one of the permanent colours. It’s a dark purpley greyish brown taupe, which doesn’t sound overly pretty, but if you google some swatches looks gorgeous on nails! I can’t wait to try this out. The cotton pads and nail files will certainly come in handy when I remove my current polish and reshape my nails to try this one out ;)

I think the idea behind ClubNailPolish is really cool being a “nail polish of the month club” where they send you the secret colour of the month from a name brand (ie. OPI, China Glaze, Essie, etc) rather than a big box of random beauty samples or inhouse products. Nice and simple. It’s perfect for nail polish junkies who just want a surprise polish each month without all the other products that come in existing beauty box services.

However, I really question the sustainability of the service. The bubble mailer shows that shipping cost $7.61 for the package – yikes! That’s just about how much each nail polish itself costs at retail price. Hopefully they can negotiate a cheaper shipping rate. I don’t think they’ve established a price for their monthly Pretty Little Packages yet, but it would have to be at least around $10 for them to just break even and at that price, unless they throw in some fun extras like maybe glitter pots or nail stickers (cotton pads and nail files are a useful addition, but I can’t imagine that people would want to be receiving them every month) I don’t think many people would be interested because you can pick up a polish from a salon or drugstore for around the same price.

That said, they haven’t launched yet and are just testing out their prototype package right now. I’m sure there’s lot’s of room for improvement and as a self professed nail polish junkie (and lover of all surprises – especially ones in pretty packages) I’m super excited for this to launch!

9 thoughts on “ClubNailPolish Review

      • I’m just wondering about pricing. They need to be competitive and OPI and. Essie are around 10 at most stores. Sometimes less at places like winners or xs cargo. With shipping costs as high as they are I don’t know how they are going to keep it low enough to attract customers but high enough that they still make profit. Cause in the end a company will not survive without profit.

      • I knoww! I love the concept, but honestly it needs to be around the same price as retail for me to sub, because otherwise I could go and pick up whatever colour I wanted for the same price. I’m sure they get their polishes at wholesale prices though, so it’ll really depend on what type of shipping rate they can work out with Canada Post

  1. Hi there! Quick question that’s totally off topic. Do you know how to make your site mobile friendly? My website looks weird when browsing from my iphone. I’m trying
    to find a template or plugin that might be able to correct this problem.
    If you have any recommendations, please share.
    Thank you!

  2. you’re in reality a excellent webmaster. The web
    site loading pace is amazing. It sort of feels that you are doing any unique trick.
    Also, The contents are masterpiece. you’ve done a fantastic process on this matter!

  3. Amazing blog! Is your theme custom made or did you download it from somewhere?
    A design like yours with a few simple adjustements would really make my
    blog stand out. Please let me know where you got your design.
    Many thanks

What do you think? Let me know, I love reading your comments!

