Topbox December 2012 Review

So I got my long awaited Topbox in the mail today. It’s sort of got a festive theme, using red instead of their usual white and purple tube.  Not going to lie though, pretty disappointed with this box. This is my third one and I think I’m going to cancel this subscription, simply because I don’t think it’s worth it. At $12 it’s relatively inexpensive, but none of the samples I’ve been getting in my boxes are all that exciting..  Anyways, here’s my box:

Box #33

Box #33

From left to right:

Chloe Eau de Parfum – 5mL ($9) I would be stoked to receive this sample if it weren’t for the fact that I already have 3 of these… I feel like Chloe is pushing its samples hard everywhere because I keep getting them for free, which would be fine except I absolutely can’t stand the smell.  It smells like something a grandma would wear to me.. I’ll probably pass this off to my mom.

China Glaze “Exotic Encounters” from the On Safari Collection – 14mL ($10) I’m always happy to get nail polish so this is great.  Not something I would have picked for myself, but I guess that’s a good thing.  I’ve been on a nail polish buying spree lately and this isn’t the most exciting colour (I am on a mega sparkle kick right now) so I probably won’t be using this anytime soon, but will eventually.

Ferro Cosmetics Ultimate HD Foundation – 1 g? ($2.50) I’m totally guesstimating the amount in the container since it doesn’t say but it’s actually quite a bit of powder in there so it should last for a while since you don’t need to use very much.  I’m happy with my Bare Minerals but I will try this out eventually.  I really like the fact that it’s paraben free and cruelty free though!

Goldwell Jelly Boost – 30mL ($3.79) Apparently this is a spray gel.  I honestly do not think I will ever use this because.. well who uses gel in their hair?  Actually I stand corrected, my sister is a cadet and has to use buckets of gel in her hair when she goes to events so I guess I’ll be passing this on to her.  But seriously, what girl uses gel in her hair on an everyday basis?

All in all the “value” of this box is about $25, which is more than I paid, but I’m really not liking this sub.  I waited for months and months to get off the waitlist so there’s that emotional attachment (irrational I know), but so far I’ve been thoroughly disappointed by each box.  The brands aren’t as high end as they used to be, and the sample sizes aren’t overly impressive. I think I’m going to stick around for the January box because they’re introducing some sort of fancy shmancy “Prive” box that features some yet to be known but supposedly “iconic” brand.. Hopefully it’s good, because unless it’s mindblasting, sadly I’m going to be ending my subscription.  I haven’t even posted the other 2 boxes because of how unexciting they were.. but now that I’m on winter break maybe I’ll get around to posting them :)

Betty

4 thoughts on “Topbox December 2012 Review

  1. I received a similar box, but got the GC polish last month, so I got 2 small skincare samples instead (small like the size of my thumbnail small :P).

    I too was on the wait list for about 6 months and, after seeing some of the seriously amazing boxes that were being given out when I first went on the wait list and before, I’m wondering what happened and why the recent boxes have been so hit-or-miss.

    2 things kind of bug me about Topbox. The first is that the boxes vary SO MUCH. I see some boxes in the same month that contain nearly all makeup products (mascara, lipgloss, blush, etc) while others (in the same month) are nearly all skincare. This bugs me. That and the size and value of the products differ so greatly between boxes, yet we all pay the same for the subscription.And from some of the reviews I’ve been reading, it doesn’t appear that the great difference is based on our “profile survey” because people are receiving things that are almost opposite to what they indicated on their survey. (On the subject of the survey, it doesn’t seem so much about taste preference in products as in shopping/marketing habits).

    The second thing is something I’ve started to notice since I’ve gotten off the waiting list and actually started receiving samples. I do A LOT of online beauty shopping (yay being from a small town with no good stores nearby!) and, also liking to try to limit my spending, I often lurk in the clearance areas of sites before proceeding to the regular priced stock. I also read a TON of reviews before I buy things to make sure I spend my money smartly.

    I’ve been noticing that a lot of the things we receive in the boxes (at least that I’ve been receiving) are things that are either on clearance all over the place or have received less-than-stellar reviews. This makes me think that many companies provide these samples because they’re unable to sell them. The CG nail polish comes to mind off the top of my head, as the Safari Collection is on clearance EVERYWHERE I look recently. As it’s a fairly new collection (fall 2012), this is unusual. Personally, I was unimpressed with most of the colours and purchased just the 2 glitters. I’m normally a CG fangirl and buy complete/near-complete collections, so this is saying something :P

    Not sure why Topbox would be giving us samples of things that aren’t selling well, as this definitely would NOT make me inclined to purchase from the company. If I hadn’t bought other CG polishes on my own, for example, the sample I received last month would not have been enough to make me find out more/purchase more from the brand.

    However, there are also occasional gems/beauty staples that people love. The Benefit mascara, CoverFX and MUFE Liner that have gone in some boxes the last few months are examples. But they seem to be few and far between. Almost makes me think it’s a gimmick to keep people subscribing because they have the *chance* of receiving something amazing.

    I think I’m going to stick out the Prive Box to see what it’s all about and maybe one more regular month in February, but if things don’t improve, despite being on the wait list for half a year, I’m out.

    Sorry this is so long and thanks for reading :P

    • I totally agree with you! I noticed the value discrepancy the most when I got my first box in September, which seemed to be mostly just leftovers from past boxes, while others were getting much more high value items like the Stila prime pot. I definitely got lured in by the potential of getting the full sized Deborah Lippmann polishes or Cake hand creams but it really seems like the boxes have gone downhill in the last month. I think I’m going to be out too if the boxes don’t get better fast. Hopefully the January prive box will wow us!

What do you think? Let me know, I love reading your comments!

